Coordinated Universal Time

Time zones of Europe in relation to UTC:
blue Western European Time (UTC+0)
Western European Summer Time (UTC+1)
light blue Western European Time (UTC+0)
red Central European Time (UTC+1)
Central European Summer Time (UTC+2)
yellow Eastern European Time (UTC+2)
Eastern European Summer Time (UTC+3)
orange Kaliningrad Time (UTC+3)
green Further-eastern European Time (UTC+3),
a.k.a. Moscow Time
Light colours indicate countries that do not observe summer time.

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the standard time system of the world. It is the standard by which the world regulates clocks and time. It is, within about 1 second, mean solar time at 0° longitude.

The standard before was Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). UTC and GMT are almost the same. In fact, there is no practical difference which would be noticed by ordinary people.[1]

Some websites, like Wikipedia, use UTC because it does not make any country look more important than the others. It offers one time for all the internet (the same time can be used by people all over the world).

Timezones are often named by how many hours they are different from UTC time. For example, UTC -5 (United States east coast) is 5 hours behind UTC. If the time is 07:00 UTC, the local time is 02:00 in New York (UTC -5) and 10:00 in Moscow (UTC +3).

07:00 UTC is also written more simply as 0700Z (or 07:00Z).

Note that UTC uses the 24-hour clock. That means there is no 'AM' or 'PM'. For example, 4:00PM would be 16:00 or 1600.

When this page loaded, it was Saturday, 2018 August 18, 16:21 in UTC

When this page loaded, it was Saturday, 2018 August 18, 16:21Z

Standard Time Zones Map, as of August 15, 2015
  • references

References

  1. Guinot, Bernard 2011. Solar time, legal time, time in use. Metrologica 48 (4): S181–185. [1]
Other Languages
Alemannisch: UTC
azərbaycanca: Ümumdünya vaxtı
Bân-lâm-gú: UTC
беларуская (тарашкевіца)‎: Унівэрсальны каардынаваны час
brezhoneg: UTC
Cymraeg: UTC
dansk: UTC
davvisámegiella: UTC
ދިވެހިބަސް: ޔޫ.ޓީ.ސީ.
eesti: UTC
Esperanto: UTC
euskara: UTC
føroyskt: UTC
한국어: 협정 세계시
Ido: UTC
íslenska: UTC
Latina: UTC
Lëtzebuergesch: Koordinéiert Weltzäit
Limburgs: UTC
မြန်မာဘာသာ: Coordinated Universal Time
Nederlands: UTC
Nedersaksies: UTC
日本語: 協定世界時
Nordfriisk: UTC
norsk: UTC
norsk nynorsk: UTC
Nouormand: UTC
oʻzbekcha/ўзбекча: UTC
саха тыла: UTC
Seeltersk: UTC
sicilianu: UTC
српски / srpski: UTC
srpskohrvatski / српскохрватски: Koordinirano univerzalno vreme
Basa Sunda: UTC
Tagalog: UTC
татарча/tatarça: Bötendönya kileşterelgän waqıtı
vepsän kel’: UTC
Võro: UTC
Zazaki: UTC