Typhoon Jebi (2018)

Typhoon Jebi (Maymay)
Typhoon (JMA scale)
Category 5 super typhoon (SSHWS)
Jebi 2018-08-31 0332Z.jpg
Typhoon Jebi at peak intensity northwest of Guam on August 31
FormedAugust 26, 2018
DissipatedSeptember 9, 2018
(Extratropical after September 4)
Highest winds10-minute sustained: 195 km/h (120 mph)
1-minute sustained: 280 km/h (175 mph)
Lowest pressure915 hPa (mbar); 27.02 inHg
Fatalities17 total
Damage≥ $3.29 billion (2018 USD)
Areas affectedMariana Islands, Taiwan, Japan, Russian Far East, Arctic
Part of the 2018 Pacific typhoon season

Typhoon Jebi, known in the Philippines as Typhoon Maymay, is considered to be the strongest typhoon to strike Japan since Typhoon Yancy in 1993.[1] Jebi formed as a tropical depression on August 26, before becoming the twenty-first named storm of the 2018 Pacific typhoon season on August 28. It rapidly intensified into a typhoon on the following day and reached its peak intensity on August 31, after striking the Northern Mariana Islands. Jebi initiated a slow weakening trend on September 2 and made landfall over Shikoku, and then the Kansai region of Japan, as a very strong typhoon on September 4.

Meteorological history

Map plotting the track and the intensity of the storm, according to the Saffir–Simpson scale

A low-pressure area formed near the Marshall Islands early on August 25.[2] It remained devoid of a low-level circulation center (LLCC) next day;[3] however, the system developed further on August 27 and both the Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA) and the Joint Typhoon Warning Center upgraded it to a tropical depression,[4] based on persistent deep convection wrapping into a consolidating LLCC.[5] Early on August 28, the system was upgraded to a tropical storm, with JMA assigning the storm the international name Jebi.[6] On the August 29, the JMA upgraded the storm to a typhoon, after it developed an eye with a central dense overcast, and underwent rapid intensification. Jebi continued to intensify, becoming the third super typhoon of the season and also the second Category 5-equivalent super typhoon of the season.

On September 4, Jebi made its first landfall over the southern part of Tokushima Prefecture at around 12:00 JST (03:00 UTC).[7] Afterward, Jebi crossed Osaka Bay and made its second landfall over Kobe, Hyōgo Prefecture at around 14:00 JST (05:00 UTC),[8] and then moved over Osaka and Kyoto prefectures, before ultimately emerging into the Sea of Japan shortly after 15:00 JST (06:00 UTC).[9] Simultaneously, a cold front formed southwest of the typhoon, indicating the beginning of an extratropical transition.[10] On September 5, after JTWC issued a final warning at 00:00 JST (15:00 UTC),[11] Jebi was downgraded to a severe tropical storm at 03:00 JST (18:00 UTC), when it was located near the Shakotan Peninsula of Hokkaido.[12] The storm completely transitioned into a tropical storm-force extratropical cyclone off the coast of Primorsky Krai, Russia, shortly before 10:00 VLAT (09:00 JST, 00:00 UTC). Later, the extratropical cyclone moved inland.[13] The terrain of Khabarovsk Krai contributed to the steadily weakening of the storm as the it moved inland northwestward and then turned northward;[14] Jebi's extratropical low passed northeast of Ayan early on September 7.[15][16] Jebi's extratropical remnant continued northward, and then turned northeastward, before dissipating on early September 9 over the Arctic Ocean.