British Summer Time

British Summer Time
World Time Zones Map.png
  British Summer Time
UTC offset
UTCUTC+01:00
Current time
21:26, 23 July 2019 refresh]
Observance of DST
DST is observed throughout this time zone.

During British Summer Time (BST), civil time in the United Kingdom is advanced one hour forward of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) (in effect, changing the time zone from UTC+00:00 to UTC+01:00), so that evenings have more daylight and mornings have less.[1][2]

BST begins at 01:00 GMT on the last Sunday of March and ends at 01:00 GMT (02:00 BST) on the last Sunday of October. Since 22 October 1995, the starting and finishing times of daylight saving time across the European Union have been aligned[3] – for instance Central European Summer Time begins and ends on the same Sundays at exactly the same time (that is, 02:00 Central European Time, which is 01:00 GMT). Between 1972 and 1995, the BST period was defined as "beginning at two o'clock, Greenwich mean time, in the morning of the day after the third Saturday in March or, if that day is Easter Day, the day after the second Saturday in March, and ending at two o'clock, Greenwich mean time, in the morning of the day after the fourth Saturday in October."[4][5]

The following table lists recent-past and near-future start and end dates of British Summer Time:[6]

YearStartEnd
201627 March30 October
201726 March29 October
201825 March28 October
201931 March27 October
202029 March25 October
202128 March31 October
202227 March30 October

Instigation and early years

Early history

British Summer Time was first established by the Summer Time Act 1916, after a campaign by builder William Willett. His original proposal was to move the clocks forward by 80 minutes, in 20-minute weekly steps on Sundays in April and by the reverse procedure in September.[7] In 1916, BST began on 21 May and ended on 1 October.[8] Willett never lived to see his idea implemented, having died in early 1915.